Sweet Treat

I’m quickly coming up on the end of my third week (tomorrow!), and after much begging on my part, Ron took me out to Texas de Brazil for dinner. I was a good girl and ate my veggies first, with a big salad, olives, tomatoes, asparagus, and a nice side of goat cheese that was amazing on bacon. I splurged on a piece of cheese bread, but since I didn’t have any other carbs today, I know I was fine. I ate a ridiculous amount of meat, but was still way less than I would normally eat, and this time I concentrated on only getting the stuff I really like, especially the picanha. I almost made a huge error of putting two splenda into my tea, but fortunately, I caught myself. I actually only needed a third of a packet per glass! My tastebuds have become super sensitive to anything sweet, so it takes just a few grains now.

Ron was very nice and didn’t get dessert, since I can’t have any. That did remove any kind of temptation for me, which was probably a good thing. I cannot resist their Brazilian Cheesecake with caramel and chocolate mousse. I still have another eight days before I can start adding anything like that, and even so, I’ll have to keep it at a bite or two, not a full half of a slice. Meanwhile, I’m planning on making my own strawberry paletas with cream, strawberries, and a bit of splenda in the blender, then poured into popsicle molds and frozen.

Now that I’ve made it through the first two weeks and I’ve added way more fat to my diet, I’m finally past all the nausea and severe migraines. It is great to not feel so sick, although now I think I’m getting a cold. I made it to the pool yesterday and swam 32 laps, but the water was cold and the room was freezing. By the time I got home, I was sneezing and today I’m snuffly. But I’m going back to the pool tomorrow to work off some of this meat. It was extra awesome to step on the gym scale and see that number, so that will keep me swimming, cold or no.

All in all, I’m still really happy with this low-carb lifestyle. The fact that I’ve made it three weeks is unprecedented, to say the least! I did go an entire year without refined sugar once, but I still ate potatoes and I went through a period of eating six bags of popcorn a day for a few months. I did lose a ton of weight back then, though. I fully intend to stick to this super low-carb diet until I’ve been yeast infection free for at least three months. Hopefully by then, it will have become an ingrained habit. It is really nice to not have to count calories.

More things on the pro side of this diet: I feel GOOD, like super healthy GOOD! My head is clear and not so foggy, although this morning I couldn’t figure out how to open a can of tuna. That’s to be expected, since I do still have fibro. I have more energy. I’m going to sleep at 11pm and waking up at 8am, and only waking up for a few minutes in the night. I’ve been in a great mood. And unexpectedly, we’re saving a fortune on not eating out, buying junk food, or even buying stuff to make junk food. It’s amazing how much one can save by giving up Starbucks and margaritas!

 

3 thoughts on “Sweet Treat

  1. pavanneh says:

    I am beginning to think that I really need to go back on the low carb diet. I did really well on Atkins for a long time. I kept 40lbs off for 3 years until Carbs crept back into my diet, the fibro symptoms were reduced dramatically. It is so easy though to get off track. I am slowly reducing carbs, but not enough. I need more meat in my diet and more green vegetables.

    • mzklever says:

      I am amazed that my fibro symptoms do seem to be lessened, but I find I’m more easily confused. However, I did notice that before I started the diet, so it is likely not diet related. Hopefully if you do go back to it, you won’t have the hideous low carb flu. I’m torn between whether it is easier to slowly lower carbs or just go cold turkey. If it weren’t for the withdrawal, cold turkey is definitely the way to go. Can I ask what your daily carbs were for your maintenance?

      • pavanneh says:

        I am trying to remember. I know I tried to keep it less than 25 grams a day. That is pretty extreme compared to what I eat now. But I ate VERY little bread and flour. NO white sugar and lots of baked and roasted chicken and fish. Very little red meat. Spaghetti squash was a staple for use as pasta. I learned to make a great vegetable lasagna using Zucchini sliced thin length wise as noodles and mushrooms, spinach, onions, tomatoes and lots of cheese. I have not made that in a long time. I can’t eat fish or nuts though anymore and both of those were essential in keeping my hunger and carbs down…UGGGHHH. I miss fish. I developed some weird allergies after my hysterectomy. No shellfish, seaweed or sea fish. And definitely no peanut butter or cashews. Miss eating that too.
        In the end I think I pretty much kept to 35 grams a day for maintenance. It takes a lot of discipline to keep it that low and it just kept creeping up.

Leave a Reply

