Love Shack, Baby!

We got home on New Year’s Eve, around 1pm. We were all exhausted and in bed by 8pm, so this was officially the third lamest New Year’s Eve of my adult life, but I don’t care. I got to wake up New Year’s Day in my beautiful room that Leigh decorated just for me using furniture that I bought on my last trip back in September. She even put her grandmother’s antique quilt on my bed, which makes me feel extra loved.

IMGP4478

I settled in quickly, and Leigh surprised me with a power strip for all my electronics, and a side table for my constant companion…a cup of tea. I brought a desk light with an organizer so I can keep my rings and scissors and lotion all together instead of spreading all over the place.

This morning, I woke up to a winter wonderland of white everywhere and snow falling. Snow actually does make a sound when it falls; sort of a quiet “whoosh” as it drifts over and down. We had a four inch accumulation since the storm started sometime last night. It’s cold enough that Bill fired up the woodstove, and I’ve made sure all my electronics are charged just in case we lose power. Yikes!

Matt and Amanda gave me a sweet and thoughtful Christmas present…a rechargeable USB battery. I used it within hours of starting our trip. Amanda’s mom gave me a little heating pad with pockets, which definitely got used today!

I did manage to get my Kindle cover made up, and while it’s not as pretty as a “bought” one would be, it’s mine and I love it. I took pictures along the way, so my next blog post will be about how to do it in case you want to make your own. I set up my photo lights in our giant studio (which used to be Leigh’s den), although Bill had a set of construction work lights in there. The problem is that the light from that thing is so yellow and it tinges everything an off color. Since Leigh was painting, the true color of my photo lights made her life much easier.

One thing about being so far north in the winter is how short the days are. It’s not even 5:30 pm and I feel like it’s midnight. I’m so tired! I’m sure part of that is because we were busy all day, but I’m sure the other part is the  darkness telling my body it’s time to go to sleep. I think it’s time for a nap!

 

 

Leave a Reply

