In Order To Form A More Perfect Union

I have a problem. It’s a simple problem, really. The thing is, I love the Constitution. I mean, I really do. I grew up singing “I’m Just A Bill” and “We The People” from School House Rock every Saturday morning. A lot of men and women have died defending that little piece of centuries old paper that gives us the right to worship (or not) as we see fit, the right to bear arms, the right against illegal search and seizure, etc. Of course, because I love words, and I love writing, I REALLY love the first amendment to the Constitution; the right to free speech.

School House Rock

Unfortunately, in the US, as much as people like to say that we have free speech and how great it is that we can criticize the government without fear of reprisal (to a certain extent, of course), what most people really mean is that you can only say what you believe as long as its the same thing as what they believe. Otherwise, you’re ungrateful, unpatriotic, unAmerican. I disagree.

As I’ve said before, all of my brothers, my biological father, my ex-husband and my current husband have all served in the military. While they all had different reasons for why they chose to serve, the fact remains that they vowed to uphold all the meaning in that little piece of paper. So when someone dares to attempt to blur the line between the separation of Church and State, the VERY REASON of our country’s being, the thing that made a group of people leave their homes and find somewhere else so that they could have the freedom to worship how they wanted without the government intervening…well, that really pisses me off. It pisses me off because I have seen Fort Logan Cemetery, Arlington Cemetery, the Vietnam Memorial in DC, the Korean War Memorial in DC…in other words, I have a grasp of how many people have died so that I can sit here on my laptop and rant about the Constitution.

I cannot express how strongly I feel about not pissing on graves. That’s what all these movements to create a state religion, force mandatory religious assemblies in public schools, and stomp all over the first amendment are doing. The people behind those movements are pissing on the graves of the very people that gave them the freedom to follow their own beliefs, just as they gave me the freedom to follow my own. Those soldiers did not die so that someone could force my child to spend over an hour listening to a Baptist minister spew about hellfire and damnation, nor did they die so that I could be court ordered to attend church on Sundays. No, they died so that we wouldn’t have to do these things.

I am damned sick and tired of all the same people who are going off about their right to have automatic rifles without background checks trying to take away MY freedom to worship or not worship as I see fit. I don’t believe they need an automatic rifle to “defend their home” any more than they believe that children should be taught science in school because it might cause those children to actually think for themselves. I am damned sick and tired of people pissing on graves.

I understand how the second amendment can be interpreted to cover automatic rifles without background checks, really, I do. However, the first amendment isn’t really open to interpretation when it comes to the separation of Church and State, since it specifically ” prohibits the making of any law respecting an establishment of religion, impeding the free exercise of religion, abridging the freedom of speech, infringing on the freedom of the press, interfering with the right to peaceably assemble or prohibiting the petitioning for a governmental redress of grievances.”

It’s that first bit there…”prohibits the making of any law respecting an establishment of religion,” that I so love. All these arguments by doctors and pharmacists and companies who don’t want to provide birth control coverage to their employees under the guise that they don’t need to follow the law because it goes against their religion really need to read this thing again.

2 thoughts on “In Order To Form A More Perfect Union

  1. lj41 says:

    I completely agree with you and that’s quite rare!

  2. Starannon says:

    Well said. And thank you for saying it.

Leave a Reply

