There You Are

Life can never be all good, but it can certainly be almost all good. Poor Aubrey’s had a pretty crappy week, but yesterday was the start of a whole new week, so it’s got to get better, right?

In spite of having to suck up my severe sacroiliac pain until Friday the 8th, things are going relatively well. Ron and I have actually been getting along much better, which has put a circle of sunshine around all the other things going on. He’s been rubbing my back with Pennsaid every day, and taking care of all the house stuff as usual. Plus we’ve been talking a whole lot more, mainly because our bed is the only spot in the whole house where I can sit comfortably for any length of time, so I’ve been in the bedroom where he is instead of us being on opposite sides of the house.

Yesterday as we were making breakfast, I realized how much I love Sunday mornings. We often cook breakfast together on Sundays…omelettes, sausage, pancakes, fried potatoes, toast, scrambled eggs…a wide selection of combinations, always with freshly ground and pressed coffee. Ron makes the best coffee, although my omelettes are better than his by far (he admits this freely). When we cook together, we joke and talk, laugh and throw playful insults around. He always defers to me when I’m cooking, as everything he’s learned to make, he learned from me, except for spaghetti, of course.

I stopped stirring the potatoes and wrapped my arms around his waist to give him a hug. I told him how much I enjoy cooking with him. I never tell him these things anymore, but I’ve expected him to say them. He laughed and hugged me back, then gave me a kiss. It’s amazing how much a change of attitude can cause a change in perspective.

Matt had a fantastic week. He was offered his own radio show on the college station, so he has the late Wednesday night time slot. He’s excited because he didn’t think he’d get any air time this semester, between working two jobs and taking a full course load, including video editing, which is supposed to be a killer class. He got an A on his first project, and enjoyed doing it, so now he’s thinking of going that direction rather than talent management. He has plenty of time to decided, and he may find he hates it by the end of the semester.

Meanwhile I’m going through Matt music withdrawal. He hasn’t recorded anything in ages because he needs a new audio interface. He plans to get one with his tax return, so I should only have to wait a few weeks, but it sucks. The day his interface died, he had said he’d give me two new songs by midnight if I bought him a pizza. I ordered one online and had it sent to him, but by 10pm, I still didn’t have my songs. That’s when he gave up trying to get his interface to work and officially declared a time of death.

While weekend before last was a bust as far as finding Aubrey a car, we managed to get one last Friday. I found a 97 Honda Accord station wagon with only 125,000 miles on it (REALLY! The odometer does work!) for a whopping $2000. I took it to our mechanic for a once-over, and he said it’s in fantastic condition except for some oil seepage and a refrigerant leak. Other than that, he said I got a screaming deal, since this model is supposed to be an excellent, safe, reliable model with decent gas mileage. Considering Aubrey and I judge vehicles by the number of bodies that can be crammed in the trunk (this one could hold probably a dozen or more with the seats down), we’re both happy with it, although I want to switch out the factory radio, ASAP.

In general, things are looking up. Or maybe it’s just me. At least I am old enough to know that wherever you go, there you are. I know I can’t run away from problems, and instead, have to at least try to work them out. Moving across the country will be great, but it’s not going to make my marriage any more magical and sparkly than it is here.

“When I’m looking for the light in the middle of the night, searching for the brightest star…there you are.”

Leave a Reply

