The Only One Who’s Laughing Is The Advertising Man

Generally, I use this blog to tell stories about our crazy household. I do occasionally venture into more serious territory, and that’s where we’re going today…down the road to where Adult ADD and hoarding meet.

I’ve known for quite a while that I suffer from Adult ADD. I am finally to the point where I am admitting that I have a major problem, and it is time to do something about it. I can’t focus on any task for more than a few minutes at a time, and my brain is constantly racing. Yesterday, I talked to my therapist and told her that starting with our next appointment (which is in January), I’d like to focus on solutions for my ADD.

I’m not surprised with my diagnosis. They have identified the gene marker that indicates if a child will be prone to autism. If the child gets it from both parents, they are more likely to be somewhere on the autism spectrum. But if a child gets one gene, they are more likely to suffer from ADD. That same gene marker is also linked to certain auto-immune disorders, like Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, Crohn’s Disease, Celiac Disease, ulcerative colitis, and of course, fibromyalgia.

I often say that fibromyalgia doesn’t like to play alone, so it brings all of its friends along with it…sleep disorders, ADD, digestive disorders, interstitial cystitis, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome…the list goes on. Not everyone with fibro will have all of these other disorders, but they are at higher risk. I’ve always been able to just deal with it. I’m sure it was mild when I was a child, although I was prone to clutter from an early age. I think it’s worsened as I’ve gotten older, and now it’s become paralyzing.

I have a difficult time finishing tasks, which is why there are a countless number of WIPs (Works in Progress) all over my office. I’m well on my way to starring in an episode of Hoarders. It’s affecting every part of my life; I forget appointments, wander around the grocery store because I can’t think of what I’m supposed to pick up, and of course, my house is a mess, which stresses out my family. Even worse, I see the same problems growing in Aubrey. Luckily for Matt, he is a minimalist so no clutter problems there.

I know that before one can solve a problem, one must admit that one HAS a problem to begin with. I fully admit that I have a problem and my life has become unmanageable. Now it’s time to turn it over to a Higher Power. In this case, that means I need to find someone who specializes in working with people with ADD. Fortunately, NAPO (the National Association of Professional Organizers) has a directory of organizers that specialize in ADD and clutter.

Ron read an article a few days ago about hoarding being an official diagnosis in the new DSM-V. This is an amazing thing for people with this problem, as it means that insurance will cover someone who actually comes to one’s home to help them work on the clutter directly, instead of just talking about it in an office. At the moment, however, insurance covers very little when it comes to Adult ADD and hoarding.

I promise that this will not become a blog about hoarding! But with all the recent talk about access to mental health care, I thought it was time to admit that even in the most normal of households (we’re as normal as the next houseful of crazy people!), mental health can rear its ugly head in many different ways.

If you need help with decluttering or organizing, you can find a professional organizer near you with the NAPO directory.

 

logo

 

3 thoughts on “The Only One Who’s Laughing Is The Advertising Man

  1. Bless you, hope you have a peaceful Christmas. X

Leave a Reply

