Working For The Weekend

Sigh. It’s 10am and I am dreading the necessity of having to once again drag Aub out of bed at what she considers an ungodly hour, especially since it’s her day off. Even worse, I’m making her get up so she can go job hunting. She loves her current job and has no intentions of leaving it, but she’s not making enough money to really get anywhere. Unless I want her living in my house until she’s 30, she needs a bit of a push and shove towards getting a day job, too. She’s planning to apply at Victoria’s Secret so she can at least get a discount on things she buys anyway. I wish she’d work at a craft store; I’d save a fortune!

I have yet to sleep, because I fell asleep when Ron got home, and slept until Aub got home. My schedule is all screwy, so I figured I would stay up and get it back on track tonight. It’s easy to do…I just don’t take my sleep meds. Tonight, I’ll take them at a relatively early time, and be asleep by 11pm. That gives me 13 hours to get a huge list of stuff done.

Since I stayed awake, I used the time to start cleaning my mess. I almost have a coffee table! It still has crochet notions, office supplies, and manicure stuff on it, but that’s all minor compared to the giant pile of stuff I went through last night. Once I get it cleaned off and polish away all the stickiness, I’ll feel like I’ve accomplished something. When the living room is clean and the tree is up, I may just pop a bottle of champagne.

download

In between my bouts of late night cleaning, I caught up on some other people’s blogs (YES! I DO actually read your stuff!), and continued reading this Amish love story series that I started a while back. Don’t laugh! It’s surprisingly good. I’ve actually learned a few things, too. Our library carries the series in e-books, so I check them out to the cloud and then I can read them on my tablet, phone, and pc.

For those of you who have no clue what I’m talking about, Amazon has a cloud reader; the cloud being virtual storage on a host. Anything that you store on some other site, instead of locally on your computer or other storage device is considered to be “in the cloud.” In other words, if you don’t download your gmail/hotmail/yahoo email, it’s kept in the cloud. I love cloud computing, because I always need stuff when I’m the furthest away from it, like coupons. Since I use hotmail, if I’m out shopping, I can access coupons in my email, as most places can now just scan your phone. Nifty, isn’t it? Whether or not you have a Kindle (I don’t), you can still use the Kindle app on most other devices. Since I never know where I’m going to be or what device I’ll have with me, it’s nice to have books multiply accessible. The Amazon cloud reader even keeps track of where you stopped reading, so you don’t have to search for your place, even across devices.

Anyway, now that you’ve had your tech lesson for the day, back to what I intended to write about…

I’ve been in this whirl of feeling overwhelmed by my surrounding disorganization. It’s almost reached critical mass, in that I’m becoming rather depressed about it, which makes me not want to move off my bed. I look around and have no idea where to start. My yarn is reproducing at an alarming rate (I swear, I haven’t bought ANY in almost a month!), and I have managed to start more projects than I can finish in the next 12 months, let alone before Christmas. However, last night, I realized I was cleaning in five minute increments…and by the time the sun rose, I’d gotten somewhere. I read all the time about professionals suggesting setting a timer for 15 minutes, but being in a fibro flare, 15 minutes is out of the question. Now five? That I can do.

I think what started this is coming across a blog on living simply: http://www.missminimalist.com She writes about how she gets rid of at least one thing a day. This is a woman who has no stuff. WTF is she getting rid of, I’d like to know? That said, I felt like I could commit to getting rid of one thing a day, too. As she points out, at the end of a year, she has 365 less things in her house! Trust me when I say I could easily get rid of 10 things a day and still have a shit ton of stuff left at the end of a year, but I would have 3650 less things.

At first I thought it would be a great New Year’s resolution. I’d start the year off with throwing out/giving away a thing a day, and keep a running tab in a separate part of my blog. I’m super OCD about weird shit, like having to start things at the beginning of the week, or month, or year. I also won’t get out of bed unless it’s what I consider an “even” number like 8am, 8:15am, 8:30am, 8:45am, etc. Yes, I know 15 isn’t an even number, but that’s not the point. The point is that I can be batshit crazy about certain things, especially regarding time. In spite of this, I am so excited to embark on this experiment, I’m starting on a SATURDAY in the middle of the month!

As an extra incentive, I’m putting a penny in a jar for every thing (or in the case of paper, every pile) I give away or throw out. I’m curious to see how fast I can save up. At the end of every 30 days, all that savings will go straight to a credit card. Anything I sell on eBay? Credit card. Garage sale? Credit card. Craigslist? You got it! Credit card! I may not be able to get out of debt as fast as we got in it, but it will go a whole lot faster.

So wish me luck. You’ll see a new tab pop up later today with a list of the things I got rid of. Ready? Set? GO!

“Everybody’s going off the deep end…”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

