Sunshine On My Shoulders

Woot! I’m not sure why I’m suddenly so popular (cue the music from Wicked!), but I’ll take it. It’s such an honor just to be read, but being nominated for the Sunshine Award is even more exciting. Thank you SO much to Sliced Science for the nomination. Sliced Science‘s blog is all about explaining everyday science questions in short, quick answers that are easy enough for teens (or those of us without degrees from MIT) to understand, so check it out by clicking on the link!

I haven’t been nominated for a blog award in quite a while, and one of the rules is that I must nominate 10 other blogs. This is a great time for me to get to know some of my new followers, and pass around some blog lovin’ so you can get to know them, too!

There are only four rules to the Sunshine award, and they’re easy: include a link (and say Thanks!) to the blog that nominates you; answer the “get to know you” questions; nominate 10 other bloggers and link to them; and last but not least, let those blogs know that you nominated them. Really, that fourth one is important, because as a blogger who doesn’t get out much, I sometimes tend to feel like I’m blogging into a vacuum. Knowing that other people not only read my stuff but think it’s worthy of recognition makes my entire month.

Now for the questions!

1. Who is your favorite philosopher? Hm…David Wilcox. Okay, he’s not really a philosopher, but is a singer/songwriter, and his songs have gotten me through some tough times. I love the philosophy of music, as you may have noticed that all of my blog post titles are lyrics or titles to various songs. I’ve listened to David since I was 16 years old, so that was…a really long time ago. Hell, that was two husbands, two kids, and two divorces ago! While I know they are way too busy over there to respond to an award, I do want to recognize his importance to me, so check out his blog and his music at www.DavidWilcox.com. If you’re lucky enough to live near where he’ll be in concert, GO! He’s great to listen to on CD, but seeing him live is a whole ‘nother thing. He’s an even better story teller than he is a singer, and that is truly saying something!

2. What is your favorite number? I have two…my kids’ cell phone numbers. I know that’s not what the question meant, but really, these are the two numbers that I can’t live without. I talk to my son almost every day, and my daughter and I text throughout the day, especially when she’s letting me know that she got somewhere safely.

3. What is your favorite animal? I can only pick one? I’d have to say the pit bull. They are the sweetest, smartest, most stubborn, loving, affectionate, misunderstood dogs. I know lots of pit owners who agree. My favorite one is my friend Leigh’s dog, Mia. Whenever I’m up there and it gets cold, she always comes to snuggle with me.

 4. What are your Facebook and Twitter? I refuse to tweet. While I appreciate the original facebook limitation of 420 characters to get one’s point across, and I recognize that it made me a much tighter writer, tweeting is useless to me. I do good to keep up with blogs and facebook friends. My facebook is www.facebook.com/pages/A-Wonderous-Life/151399731626135, or you can just click on that link over there on the left that says “Like”!

5. What is your favorite time of day? Any time when the house is quiet. That usually means early morning, late night, and right after my daughter leaves for work. I cherish that quiet time because that’s usually when I write. I especially treasure waking up in the morning, putting a fire in the fireplace, curling up under my quilt, and typing away.

6. What is your favorite holiday?  Halloween. I love seeing all the little kids in their cute costumes and the influx of FRESH chocolate in the stores beforehand. Christmas is a close second, mainly because I enjoy seeing people’s reactions to gifts.

7. What is your favorite physical activity? LOL! My son would say it’s sitting on my ass, but I’d have to say swimming. I learned to swim and snorkel when I was three, and I could live in water. Actually, let me correct that… my OCD issues require that I be in moving water. I can’t handle lakes, and I can only tolerate pools if they are super ultra clean…even then, I have to scrub and scrub after I get out of the pool, because I know I’m covered in other people’s funk.

8. What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink? A venti, non-fat, no-foam mocha with 2.5 pumps mocha syrup, 3 pumps cinnamon dulce, 1 splenda, and 195 degrees, STIRRED like James Bond likes his martinis shaken, with whipped cream. I like to sit with a can of whipped cream, and add some every few sips, but that only works if I’m at home. I know four people who have my drink order saved as texts in their phones. When they stop to get coffee for me, they just hand their phones over to the cashier.

9. What is your passion? My family, photography, writing, and crafting. Yeah, I’m pretty sure that’s the order, but sometimes it might change, depending on my mood.

10. What is your favorite flower? Gerbera daisies. I fell in love with them when I was in Finland for a month in the summer of 2000. They thrive in cooler climates, so they are everywhere in Finland. Yet another reason I want to move north! Trying to grow them down here is just cruel, as they die within days.

Here are my nominations for the Sunshine Award, in no particular order:

www.theimaginationmuscle.com Being a photographer, I am fascinated by other people’s photography. Anna is not only an amazing photographer, she’s an incredible fiber artist. Her blog is always a joy to read, even if you just look at the pictures.

thebettermanprojects Evan is the kind of guy a mother wishes her daughter could meet. His blog is all about his journey to become a better man. It’s inspirational and motivational, and gives me warm fuzzies.

StitchKnit Sue is not only an insane genius fiber artist, she’s also a wonderful mentor. I’ve only known her for a few months, and she has made me a much better crocheter. She’s always willing to answer my crazy stupid questions, and her sense of humor is a bright spot in my day. Not only does she have a great blog, she is on Etsy: http://www.etsy.com/shop/StitchKnit

mothstoaflame OMG, I can totally relate to Moth’s misadventures, as I’m sure you will, too. Hilarious writing, “things that I thought only happened to me,” and dating adventures that any singleton (or married person) can appreciate. I highly recommend peeing before reading her blog, just to avoid any undue “accidents.”

stitchedupmama I did say that one of my passions is crochet, and stitchedupmama is everything I hope to be someday. Her creations are unique attention grabbers, and her blog features fabulous pictures of her crochet adventures. Check out her store links here: http://stitchedupmama.wordpress.com/shopping-online/

buddhakat.wordpress.com Being a spiritual person (not a religious one), it can sometimes be difficult to find others of like mind. Buddhakat is just that person for me, and their blog features not only thoughtful posts, but also some great fractal art!

stakedintheheart.com It is always a humbling honor to be followed by an actual author. Carolina is an expert on dating advice, as well as the author of a teen vampire novel, Sweet Savage Blood. She’s also GORGEOUS!

littlepoppits This is a blog/diary of a haggard mother, and she has some great ideas for keeping kids busy. She also has some impressive crochet projects, as well as other crafts.

twinklesparkleshine I always appreciate others who find grace and gratitude in everyday things. TwinkleSparkleShine is just such a blog, about everyday pleasures, including crafting (of course!).

sapphireartist Another lovely blog about the everyday journey of life. Not only does she write a good story, she has such beautiful photos to go with them.

I realize that not everyone has the time to do all the work expected from a blog award, but I love them. I also like letting other bloggers know how much I appreciate and grow from reading their blogs. Whether you use WordPress, Blogger, or some other blog forum, the fact is we are a community of strangers sharing our private thoughts with people that we consider friends. Because of this, it is fun to get to know something other than what is on your “about” page. So play along if you have time, but don’t feel guilty if you don’t. Just know that you are read and enjoyed, so keep doing what you’re doing.

Thanks again to Sliced Science for the nomination, and for encouraging me to sit still long enough to get to read more than just the few posts that show up in my feed. Although this has substantially shortened my Cyber Monday shopping, I’ve enjoyed it…and I’ve likely saved money in the process.

“makes me happy…Sunshine on my shoulders makes me cry…”

2 thoughts on “Sunshine On My Shoulders

  1. thank you so much for nominating me and congrats to you too, I will try to keep up my side of the bargin but I can be slow! x

  2. mzklever says:

    It took me three days before I finished mine, and I don’t have small children. Get to it when you get to it, guilt free 🙂

Leave a Reply

