Walking On Sunshine

Ever since my hysterectomy, I’ve had a really tough time with my fatigue. With fibromyalgia, it’s difficult to tell when fatigue is just fibro, or when it is something more serious. I knew that my vitamin D levels were low, but they had come up. After spending so much time recovering from my surgery and not really seeing any daylight, my D levels dropped again, lower than when I started. I can’t really spend time in the sun because of my risk for melanoma. Screwed either way.

My doctor suggested I hit up a tanning salon (hello, if I could do that, I would sit in the sun!). Instead, I decided to look for some vitamin D lights. I did a little research and came across ALZO full spectrum lights. Oddly enough, they are the same lights I use for my studio photography, only smaller. My photography lights are huge, and I need them for shoots, so I don’t like to use them every day. These are only 45 watt CFLs, about 9 inches long. They don’t fit in a regular lamp, but they fit perfectly in my photo light stands. They are inexpensive enough that I can leave them out for every day use and not be freaking out about them breaking.

It’s been about three weeks since I started using them, and it’s glorious. I still need naps and randomly fall asleep, but I’m feeling a ton better. I’ve managed to do a photo shoot with Aubrey, and get some stuff done around the house. I’ve also started my own social media company (TypeSpecific.com). It only takes a few hours a week, and I love having that little extra money and LOTS of extra self-esteem that comes from working and being REALLY good at it. Few people truly understand how awful fibromyalgia is for someone who has never been a stay at home person. I need things to do, or I will literally climb the walls. It’s even worse when I’m too tired to climb the walls. Then, I just want to scream.

Even though I’m dead serious when I say I’m making a tiny smidge of money, it’s enough to pay Matt’s tuition, or buy a couple of tires for Ron’s car, or allow Aubrey and I to go out for lunch. Truthfully, I think my initiative and drive impressed Ron; he’s been just as excited for me as I am for myself. It’s not about the amount of money. It’s about earning it.

It’s amazing what a little sunshine (or in my case, sunshine surrogate) can do.

“And don’t it feel good!”

Leave a Reply

