Good Morning To You…

My dear friend and favorite Brit blogger, Mummy Big Bum, ever so graciously tagged me in a game of

I love these “get to know me / get to know you” blog games, especially since I have a lot of new followers (and some older followers!) that I don’t know very well. I like to think of my readers as dear friends, who are willing to spend a moment of their time clicking on my site. So here goes:

The Rules of The Game

1. Post the rules.

2. Answer the questions. (You might be wise to answer more succinctly than I have; I got a bit carried away)

3. Create 11 new questions.

4. Tag 11 people with the post.

5. Let them know you tagged them.

These are Mummy Big Bum’s questions that she created for her #3. I will answer as honestly as I can, and I hope that the people I tag will do the same for my questions!

  • Would you prefer to live on a canal boat or in a caravan? I would defiinitely live in a caravan, or as we say across the pond, an RV. Back in the day, I dreamed of being a techno-gypsy. Most software developer contacts were for six months at a time. I wanted to be like Gonzo from the tv show, Trapper John, MD. I thought I could travel from city to city, working for six months then moving on. However, having two children made that somewhat more difficult. Well, it made it impossible.
  • Which comedian would you most like tickets to see? Lewis Black, hands down. He makes me pee my pants every time I watch his specials.
  • What food would you want to be served at your last supper? OMG, gluten, gluten, and more gluten. I would eat Krispy Kreme donuts, cranberry orange muffins from Broadway Daily Bread, Birdman Bread from Broadway Daily Bread, a hundred pounds of bread from Outback Steakhouse, my friend Bill’s New England Apple Pie, a chocolate chip Pizzookie from BJ’s Brewhouse, and garlic bread. Lots and lots and lots of garlic bread.
  • What do you think to the celebrity trend of choosing bizarre names for their offspring? And some of us ‘norms’ following suit? I think it’s child abuse. Personally, I chose my children’s named based on what it would sound like if I had to yell it across a busy shopping mall. It served me well, as I have had to yell it many, many times.
  • Which TV show from your childhood do you wish could be around today for the new generation to appreciate? Kaptain Kangaroo! I loved that show, and Mr. Green Jeans was my absolute favorite. Hm, I wonder if that’s on YouTube?
  • Have you got any fun Easter traditions? Well, when my kids were kids, Easter baskets were like Christmas trees. There were presents and chocolate and chocolate…ooh, and more chocolate. Then we would go to their paternal grandmother’s house were she would hide plastic Easter eggs with slips of paper that had amounts of money written on them, from a nickel to a dollar. There were a couple for each person, with their initials on them. If you found an egg with your own initials, you’d get double the amount of money that was written in that egg. The kids loved it, and even we parents would play. There would be 11 of us out in the tiny yard looking for a couple dozen eggs. In all my ten years spent in that marriage, Easter was one of my favorite holidays for going to my MIL’s.
  • Should I buy the largest shed I can afford so I have the optimum storage facility, or buy something small that’ll be easier to transport if we move house? I’m a hoarder of craft supplies. I would say buy the largest shed you can afford. However, you don’t want it to take over your entire yard…we have three sheds on skids and a playhouse on a cement foundation in a tiny yard. Not to mention that the people who lived here before us built a regulation half-size basketball court that takes up more than a third of what’s left. But assuming you don’t have a basketball court and multiple sheds, go for the biggie.
  • How do you suggest I stop myself devouring the entire contents of my fridge each evening? Eat until 7pm and then brush your teeth. Also, Chromium Polynicotinate (it’s very, very important that you get the Polynicotinate kind) will stop an appetite dead in its tracks.
  • Did you read this post or just skim through in order to find the questions at the end?! I read everything you write, voraciously. You’re hilariously talented, and while you’re not JKR yet, I think you will be in the end.
  • Do you believe in God or have any other spiritual beliefs? Yes, one stronger than all the rest…Jesus said to “love one another.” I think the evangelical “Christian” fanatics like to ignore that bit. I generally believe in the destiny of the Universe, and that things play out the way they are meant to be, even if it’s not what we had in mind.
  • Are there any circumstances under which you would have an abortion/encourage your partner to have one? I did have an abortion when I was 18. I had gone to PP to get birth control pills, but became sexually active in the first month. BCPs don’t work in the first month. I was five weeks along, which really means three weeks of embryonic development, since they measure pregnancy from your last menstrual cycle, and women generally ovulate two weeks later than that. I’m a firm believer in a woman’s right to choose, although I could never make that choice again. I’m so incredibly glad that I did, though, as Matt came along just a few months later. Five years after that, when I got pregnant with Aubrey, my ex-husband wanted me to have an abortion or he said he’d divorce me. Fortunately, I already had the experience of having one, so I was able to really stand up against him on that one thing, where normally he was extremely dominant.  I sometimes think that if I had carried that pregnancy, I would not have Matt, and would likely not have Aubrey, because I wouldn’t have fought against him. So I think that was meant to be, as well. My son is pro-life and my daughter is fanatically pro-choice. I respect both of their decisions, but if Matt ever got someone pregnant, I would ride his ass for the rest of that child’s life to make sure he goes beyond just his “responsibilities.”

So here are my 11 questions!

  1. Milk chocolate or dark chocolate, and why?
  2. Most favorite place you’ve ever traveled?
  3. Would you choose to live in a cheap house in a middle class neighborhood, or an expensive house in a ritzy neighborhood?
  4. Are diamonds really a girl’s best friend?
  5. What is your idea of the perfect pet?
  6. Which is less trashy: a flyswatter or a fly strip?
  7. What is your deep, dark, secret, guilty pleasure?
  8. If you were in the Hunger Games, would you be the first to die, the last one standing, or somewhere in the middle?
  9. If you could change careers right now and do whatever you dreamed of doing as a child, would you?
  10. Do you sneak snacks into the movie theatre, or buy the expensive ones there?
  11. Where would you hide the body?

Now tag, you’re it!

sllg crazy talk

Older – Nawt Wiser (because I haven’t heard from you in ages, Cally!)

Life and Other Misadventures

Staked in the Heart

Moths to a Flame

Peace, Love & Fabulous Things  (these truly are fabulous!)

Attendance Please

Lucid View

The Confused Graduate

Erin Writes

The OCD Diaries

Don’t worry, I won’t be the least bit offended if you can’t get to this (except for you, Sara Lynn!!)…I’m only running a couple weeks behind, myself. However, if you can, it’s fun to answer silly (and not so silly) questions, and spread a little bloggy love along the way.

“Good morning, good morning, good morning to you!”

7 thoughts on “Good Morning To You…

  1. I’m in without even reading the whole thing…can’t wait for a break to jump in the game…later! Kate

    • mzklever says:

      Don’t worry, Kate, I think it took me a month to get around to it, and once I did, it was several days of writing five minutes at a time!

      • No worries! Just excited!

        Was hoping to get it done by this morning…need to start thinking up some smarky questions 🙂 . I have yours answered but want to add several links to some of my posts. Oh, and I’ve yet to pick who to guten-tag! Fun stuff.

      • mzklever says:

        It is! I enjoyed coming up with the questions 🙂 Vicki (Mummy Big Bum) always comes up with the fun “get to know you” games.

  2. I think these are fun and cute. I would love to play, but I just got 2 month old puppy so my plate is full right now. LOL

    • mzklever says:

      Yes, running around protecting one’s prized belongings from a sharp set of teeth and paw too big for the body to which they are attached is definitely a full time activity! I’ve fostered more than a handful, both kittens and puppies, and they are a bundle of energy and trouble, but worth every bit of it!

  3. lifeandothermisadventures says:

    Thanks for tagging me! I will try to answer soon.

Leave a Reply

