And It’s All There To See

For those of you who haven’t noticed, all of my posts have lyrics attached. There’s a reason for that.

Music has always been the one constant in my life. Even when I didn’t know how to say what I felt, I was always able to find a song. That still holds true today. No matter what’s going on, there is always a song that fits it. Sometimes it can make me wallow in my misery a bit, but most times, it can make me feel happier, more joyful, life me out of my funk.

When I started this blog, the first song was “Closing Time” by Semisonic. It just seemed to fit what I was trying to say. I didn’t exactly intend to use lyrics for my post titles, but I always have a song that highlights what I’m writing about, so it continued. A lot of posts are inspired by lyrics of a song, whereas with some posts, I know what I want to write about and a song pops into my head.

I realize that some of the songs that I use are a little obscure. Not many people have heard of Chris Gaines (Garth Brooks’ alter ego), or Dar Williams, or even David Wilcox. Because all of these songs are important to this blog, and even more so, important to me, I wanted to give you the chance to hear what I hear. I tried where possible to find videos by the actual artists. If such a thing did not exist, then I settled for what I could find.

There are a million little cliches about music soothing the soul or taming the savage beast; for me, the beasts have always been loneliness, hopelessness, and worthlessness. You may notice there are a lot of David Wilcox and Dar Williams songs. These two artists are the ones I turn to first when I need a reminder that life is what you make it, and that misery is part of life, but it gets better.

All of these songs have another special meaning for me. When Aubrey and I would drive together, either to dance school, or summer camp, or just plain camping, we would sing. Not mumbly, under our breaths, humming kind of singing, but loud, top of your lungs, belt it out like you’re gonna die kind of singing. Without her in the car with me, humming and mumbling is sometimes the best that I can do.

Soundtrack is my invitation to you to step into my heart, my life, my soul. You’ll find it in the sidebar at the left, in the menu right under “About,” which I think is extremely fitting. Let me know what you think of some of my favorite artists. Even better, if you like them, let THEM know what you think. They are all available on Rhapsody, which means they are also available for sale by the evil Empire.

“Now the daylight’s returning and if one sentence is true, all these pages are burning and all that’s left is you.
Though the pages are numbered I can’t see where they lead, for the end is a mystery no-one can read.”

4 thoughts on “And It’s All There To See

  1. Great post! Brings to mind one of my favourite Nick Drake lyrics, “If songs were lines in conversation the situation would be fine”.

    Really enjoying your blog so far, which I found through Nouvelle Fille’s page (nerdywords.wordpress.com) Looking forward to reading more 🙂

  2. mzklever says:

    Thank you so much! I love Nouvelle Fille’s page, so you obviously have great taste in blogs ;-P

  3. Dave says:

    Strangely, I kind of liked Chris Gaines’ stuff. I thought I was the only one.

    • mzklever says:

      My daughter and I love that album. “It Don’t Matter To The Sun” is one of my favorite songs ever. Hm…may need to use that one. I think he thought that people would not support a Garth Brooks pop crossover, so did it under the alter ego. Not only did people not like the crossover, they really hated the alter ego. It must be really tough to be a star and want to stretch your wings, but have your fans refuse to let you.

Leave a Reply

