“What do you say to taking chances?”

I love differences in languages. I love that Brits say “telly” intead of “tv,” or “bloody” instead of  my favorite four letter word. We may speak English, but they speak ENGLISH. This means that sometimes, although technically the same language, things can get a little lost in translation.

Today while looking at a forum for nurses and nursing students, I came across a post titled “Petrified when handling residents that expire.” I could just imagine a giant refrigerator with crusty young doctors, dates past stamped across their foreheads. Would there be signs saying “Please only eat what belongs to YOU!” ? Would people forget about them on Friday, only to come in on Monday and find they had been thrown out by the janitorial staff? Instead of white coats, would they be wrapped in aluminum foil, or lie languishing in styrofoam boxes?

Of course, I know that in this case, expired means dead. However, my American thought process was still fixated on resident meaning doctor. I then found myself puzzling over why so many doctors were dying in this particular hospital. I felt it was very important to know which hospital, so I could avoid a potentially nightmarish career choice. Was there some sort of local plague? Was this a regional hospital in Uganda? Really, I wanted to know why in the world a medical student would agree to work there if the death rate among residents was such that a nurse would feel it necessary to ask for help in how to deal with the situation.

I quickly gave in to my curiosity, and clicked on the link to the post. Ah…resident means patient!! Now I really want to know what hospital it is. Sadly, I’m sure it’s the only one that my health insurance is willing to pay for.

“What do you say to jumping off the edge?”

One thought on ““What do you say to taking chances?”

  1. grumpysmom says:

    Do youwant to hold hands while we jump, that way if one of us backs out the other one can keep him from changing his mind. It’s a win win situation.

Leave a Reply

